top of page

Maybe It's OK to have ADD


I was talking to a writer friend of mine the other day. She is hands and feet more successful than I am at this writing thing. She stepped away from her 9-5 years ago and writes full time, with an agent, and a slew of books backed by notable publishing houses. She is reading my latest book. The one I've been promising since like IDK March. I'm stuck. I sit and look at it and words wont come. I know where its going I know how it ends but this final push to shoot me to the conclusion is fighting me worse than a toddler who hasn't napped and is coming down for a sugar crash.

Anyhow, in this discussion she mentioned to me that she has something like 20 opening chapters written for various books. Twenty.

I have like seven books in various stages of completion and I thought *I* ad the ADDs. Usually though as I write- like I am with this current book- which BTW finally has a title I love - I tend to ignore all the other stories that float in my brain and force it like an out of line child to focus solely on the task at hand, concerned that by focusing on the other books this one will never get finished.

The final installment of the Secret series has been poking at my brain of late, it wants to be written or at least paid attention to a little bit. A new book which I want to work on for NaNoWriMo this year- which will be entirely chick lit and I'm calling it a combination of The Help meetings Devil Wears Prada, also wants to be paid attention.

In addition to that I have a novella series that wants to be written and some ideas for short stories. So many ideas but very few are bearing fruit when I sit down to write.

I'm starting to wonder if this is because I'm not just letting my brain work the way it wants to work. Writing to me used to feel like flying. It used to be something that was nothing but bliss as my fingers tried to keep up with my brain. I don't know when I lost that or how I get it back. I don't know why the thing I used to love, the thing I couldn't wait to get home from work so that I could escape for a few hours and be entertained by the character sin my head... why it doesnt bring me the same joy anymore.

Maybe in order to get back to that I have to surrender to the madness and just write whatever words or scenes decide that they want to be written even if it has nothing to do with the project at hand. Perhaps its through the clouds of glitter and rainbows and unicorns and fog that I will find the way back to what I love and the ability to reach "the end" on this current project.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page