top of page

Writing Walls & Other Things


Its been a while since Ive randomly rambled about the thoughts in my brain. Does anyone find that when their life has turned into a total shit-show that creativity just disappears? Ive had a change in my regular 9-5 and am hoping that the new employ leaves a bit more room in my life for doing things other than working for the man (or, um woman as the case had been). I have hit a creative wall in regards to all things story related. I have two planned stories in the Dirty Little Secret Trilogy (though I guess if there are 4 stories its no longer a trilogy). I also have like six other stories that have been floating around in my head begging for attention.

We're coming in to fall- and we all know that with fall comes NANOWRIMO! (Cue the trumpets) - and so I need to get my proverbial ducks in a row before Nano comes-- or at least decide which of these books will be my Nano focus. As much as I love Hillary and Ivy and Lucas, Cain & Bert (and the super secret two people in book 2.5) I'm just not feeling them right now. I mean I WANT to feel them- I want them to come back and party in my head (Im a good hostess- I'm certain there are plenty of interesting things they could entertain themseles with hidden within the filing cabinets in my brain- I'd even make some hors devors and perhaps serve a nice chilled champagne if they so desired). Alas my little characters have apparently jetted off to the Hamptons or Green Lake, or are jet-setting around Europe and refuse to come out and play.

Ive been doing some reading in my waning blips of spare time. Currently I'm reading We Were Liars by E Lockhart... and that is kind of the reason why I opened this post to begin with.

Do you ever read someone else's writing and think "Damn I wish I was just a smidgeon as good as they are?"

I drip with envy over JA Huss and Pepper Winters because of how amazingly paced and intriciately detailed their stories are... but E Lockhart's writing is something else entirely. She's like a John Green (another of my writing envies) - in that her prose is very avant garde (and I hate that I'm using that word because t's such a snooty word -- but I can't find anther word that better describes her type of writing. It's just something Ive never really experienced in a book before- much like John Green. It's realistic while also being so lyrical. It has such beautiful movement... I'm seriousy fan-girling over here and Im only about 60% done with the book.

Anyhow, I dont really have much else to say other than that- but sometimes I look at other writers and think "God I wish I could write like that."

And thats where I am today- fan girling over a newly discovered book.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page